Friday 1st of August 2014
OCDS Constitutions

Constitutions of the Secular Order
of Our Lady of Mount Carmel
and Saint Teresa of Jesus


carmine2bAll are called to share, in charity, the holiness which belongs to God alone: "You must therefore be perfect, just as your heavenly Father is perfect" (Mt 5:48).

Following Christ is the way to attain perfection, open to all by baptism. Through Baptism we take part in the triple mission of Jesus: kingly, priestly and prophetic. The first is a commitment to transforming the world according to God's design. By the priestly mission, the baptized person offers self and the whole of creation to the Father with Christ, guided by the Holy Spirit. And as prophet, the baptized person announces God's plan for human kind and denounces all that is contrary to it.

The great Teresian Carmelite family is present in the world in many forms. The nucleus of this family is the Order of Discalced Carmelites: the friars, the enclosed nuns, the seculars. It is the one Order with the same charism. The Order is nourished by the long tradition of Carmel, expressed in the Rule of Saint Albert and the doctrine of the Carmelite Doctors of the Church and the Order's other saints.

The present OCDS Constitutions are the fundamental law for its members, present in different regions of the world. For this reason they are characterized by simplicity of structures and moderation in rules concerning the way of life. In this way, within a fundamental unity established by this legislation, there is preserved openness to pluralism in expression demanded by the various social, cultural and ecclesial contexts. To achieve this, particular Statutes may be drawn up to complete and adapt the general laws where permitted in these Constitutions.

Go to:

OCDS Constitutions

Key for footnotes:

Documents of the Order
Rule = Rule of Saint Albert

Saint Teresa of Jesus
WP = Way of Perfection
Found = Foundations
L = Life
IC = Interior Castle

Saint John of the Cross
A = Ascent
DN = Dark Night
SpC = Spiritual Canticle
LF = Living Flame
Sayings = Sayings of Light and Love
Prec = Precautions to a Religious

Documents of the Church/Vatican II
GS = Gaudium et Spes
LG. = Lumen Gentium
SC. = Sacrosanctum Concilium
AA = Apostolicam Actuositatum

Other Documents
CCC = Catechism of the Catholic Church
CL = Christifideles Laici
FD = Fidei Depositum
CIC = Code of Canon Law